GMC Acadia Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought an 08 with 10,000 miles on it. It seems that sound quality when listening to xm is rather poor. It sounds like its in a box or something. There is no static, it just sounds muffled. Anyone else notice this, or is it just me?
Thanks, Mike

·
Registered
37 Posts
I have an 08 as well, and I notice this too. FM sounds much better, it's a more clear sound. However, I am not subscribed to XM. I just have the sample channels... at least thats what I thought they were. I'm new to the Acadia too.

·
Registered
1,703 Posts
I have not noticed this. I have the Bose 10 speaker system and also have NAV.

·
Registered
87 Posts
My wife has an '08 with the BOSE, and it sounds great. There is a SEPARATE[/color] equalizer for each input too. Make sure the previous owner didn't have that set out of wack for XM. You will notice that on Cd, FM, Aux, and XM that they all can be tuned separately. This may not be you issue, but is an easy thing to check. 8)

·
Registered
93 Posts
I just bought a 09 last week and did set the EQ the same for all the sources. I have noticed that FM stations are louder than XM so I have to constantly adjust the volume when switching back and forth. I have also noticed that FM sounds better than XM too. My XM does seem a little muffled.

·
Registered
1,048 Posts
I think that the switch made it worse. My FM still is the best, XM good/ not great. After the merge I have noticed that several channels are just plain awful. I had Margaritaville on and I could hardly tell what song was on. I do have a speaker coming in, but I don't think one speaker would make anything that much better.

·
Premium Member
3,212 Posts
I've noticed a significant reduction in XMs sound quality since the merger as well. I wonder if they are having to reduce the sound quality in order to cram all the Sirius crap into the same data stream now.

·
Registered
234 Posts