GMC Acadia Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

This is a pretty good website. You guys seem pretty happy with your ride!

Getting a new vehicle and trying to figure out the safest one possible. I've narrowed it down to two vehicles- the Ford Expedition and the GMC Acadia. Normally I would say that the Expedition is safer, but the Acadia has All Wheel Drive..........

They both have good crash tests, so I think that with AWD the Acadia is safer than the Expedition in day to day driving, but in a worse case head on collision the Expedition would be better due to its excessive weight.

Now one option is to get a 4WD Expedition. I'm not an expert in 4WD though. Can you just leave it in 4Hi permanently, or would that cause some sort of damage? I have an AWD Toyota 4runner, and that thing is awesome when it comes to snow and ice.

What do you guys think? Any information would be appreciated!

Thanks

·
Registered
19 Posts
I am sure someone with more knowledge about the two vehicles technically will weigh in....but as an 03 Expy owner who is going to eventually order the new black 08 Acadia (and has already ordered an 08 Enclave for my wife to replace her T&C van) I can at least weigh in with my perceptions...

AWD is certainly intended for full time use vs. 4WD Expy, and AWD is really more focused on the on-the-fly traction control issue you may care about more than low gearing for pulling something out or pulling yourself out of the mud.

The Expy I would guess has higher ground clearance although probably not by as much as one might think - it is a rougher ride intended more for true 4WD use although 90% of folks probably never use it for more than driving over an occasional parking lot curb!

The Acadia is likely just as safe on paper with three row air bags like the Expy, great crash ratings like the Expy, and all the standard features of safety (trac control, etc.)