GMC Acadia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After about a year of reading this forum and researching the Acadia, I finally placed one on order this week, hoping to get it in about 6 weeks.

Now I see the UAW and GM have not reached a contract settlement and there is talk of a strike against GM.

For anyone in the know, what are the chances of a strike, when would it happen, and would my Acadia order be delayed?

·
Registered
22 Posts
I am not an expert, and I have no insight into what has been discussed so far, but in my opinion it is very unlikely that they would decide to strike at this point. It is very common for the talks to run over. They simply extend the contracts for a period of time. As long as both sides feel like they are making progress, they can agree to continue extending the existing contracts as long as they want. The other thing is that there is way to much at stake right now in Detroit for the UAW to risk a strike that quickly. Remember - they are currently negotiating agreements with all 3 of the big 3 auto makers in Detroit, so deciding to strike is a big deal. Give it a little bit of time and I am guessing they will come to some form of agreement.

Chances are that your car will be built without any issues. Your biggest risk right now is delays because of the huge demand for these vehicles.

·
Registered
1,164 Posts
Heard on the radio this morning that Ford and Chrysler's agreements have been temporarily extended and GM is the only one still negotiating.  The way the radio news portrayed it, this effectively puts GM in the driver's seat as negotiator for all 3, since Ford and Chrysler will ultimately have to agree to same/similar deals that GM and UAW come up with.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·