GMC Acadia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read through numerous threads and will try some of the suggestions here. However, I want to put my vehicle's issue up here and see if one of you kind folks can provide clearer direction to a possible solution/fix.

I also read the forum rules, but I am a newbie so please don't be too harsh on me.

2012 GMC Acadia SLT2 (FWD) - As it states in my signature for reference. I live in TX so it is hot most of the time; however, the issue has happened in hot and cold weather.

I bought the car used a little over 2 years ago with ~60K miles on it. The car currently has ~95K miles. The Traction Control Off, Service Stabilitrak, Reduced Engine Power and flashing Service Engine Light turns on and this issue has occurred intermittently. It has happened as much as 2-3 times per month and then the car will go for a couple months without any problems only for it to rear its ugly head again. I don't recall seeing the "Reduced Engine Power" on the driver information center (Wife's car) but it definitely has reduced engine power because the car idles very poorly (sputters like it is missing - see codes) and won't go faster than ~15 MPH. The last time I witnessed this occurring, the car ran extremely poorly and when I went to limp it home it was bellowing black smoke out of the exhaust for about a mile or so and then cleared itself and started to run fine (again, it is my wife's car and has happened to her since I witnessed it). In instances it has occurred previously, turning the car off and letting it sit for a short period of time has corrected the issue. The last time this happened while I was driving it I tried to shut the car off and let it sit for a bit but that did not correct the issue. I even disconnected battery for 10-15 minutes hoping to reset the computer yet the issue persisted until I got it out on the road and drove it for a mile or two.