GMC Acadia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I have a noise from the front of my torque tube where the half shaft attached. Its internal right behind the yoke. I jacked my car up and ran it in drive to confirm. Its chattering from right there gets louder if I accelerate it. question is, is this something you can replace or do I have to get a new torque tube assembly? is the torque tube assumbly hard to replace? I have plenty of mechanical experience.

·
Super Moderator
19,791 Posts
vr4rhoads said:
... question is, is this something you can replace or do I have to get a new torque tube assembly? is the torque tube assumbly hard to replace? I have plenty of mechanical experience.
None of us can replace anything for you. We're all just too far away. Plus, it's hard to slide a wrench through this broadband connection.

Seems the tube may not be rebuildable and should be replaced. Hard is relative to your experience level. You be the judge of that. Look through the forum for the service manual download. Instruction for the work should be in there. Here's a diagram and parts list showing what you're up against.

http://www.wholesalegmpartsonline.com/products/GMC/ACADIA/TUBE-Propeller/2791198/15839524.html

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sorry I meant is it something I can replace. The torque tube looks easy to replace as a whole assembly. But I can't find a part number for a bearing so I imagine it's the whole housing. I can fix most stuff as I am an aircraft mechanic just need a part number and whether it's even possible to start with. But like you pointed out it doesn't seem that's the case unfortunately . Thank you very much for the fast response!

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Think I'm gonna pull mine completely apart and see what I can do. Maybe I can get lucky and have my machinist make me a bearing or something. If not maybe I can just switch my internal parts into a new housing

·