GMC Acadia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. Maybe somebody can clear things up for me with this whole plant strike. I ordered my acadia on March 29, and the dealer told me it could take around 6-8 weeks or so to build and ship. Will the strike totally effect the production of the trucks? Is the plant completely shut-down? Should I only expect a delay on the vehicle, or could they just not build it at all? What would happen with my order if there is a long term strike? If anyone has any answers or information that could clear this up a little bit, I would greatly appreciate it.

·
Registered
487 Posts
I'm not an expert but I imagine that your build date will be slip based on how long the workers are on strike. What I would like to know is how it affects '09 build dates.

·
Registered
28 Posts
2009 build orders from dealers should already be in the works, but with no production at Lansing Delta it's all moot. As to how long to wait, it might possibly be some time -- see http://detnews.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20080422/AUTO01/804220340/1148. It looks as if the UAW is going after GM hook and tong, with the rank-and-file acting even more militant than UAW officials. Perhaps this reflects the promise of a strongly pro-union government in Washington as of next January.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I contacted my dealer, and they stated that the strike isn't effecting my order, but will mostly effect trucks with slip-differential axles. I'm guessing that has to do with the axle strike, but I believe I read the Delta plant was shut-down. Do you think the dealer is trying to stall or something, maybe hoping I don't back out of the order, or has anyone heard otherwise suggesting there won't be delays on orders. Thanks.

·
Registered
70 Posts