GMC Acadia Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, I am experiencing my first real crisis since owning my Acadia. Yesterday, I noticed a scratch next to the door handle that is about two inches in length. It looks like it may have been caused by one of the gemstones in my wife's ring (the ring has garnet stones and the scratch is a red line) but that's about as far as I want to go on THAT topic :banghead:

Anyway, my eyes aren't what they used to be and she insists that it looks to her like a surface anomoly that is actually above the paint surface and can be fixed easily with some compound. But it looks deeper and more serious to me. I should add.......I am NOT an expert where paint and body repair are concerned, but I want to get this resolved. To me, the darn thing stands out as obvious as someone walking down the street with a third eye in their forehead. :eek:

I want the scratch out but fear doing more damage than good in trying to make it right. Any suggestions on what products/approach would be best to get the scratch out without doing any harm to the surrounding paint? :help:

PS Before I'm asked, I don't have pics to post. I know it seems :lame: but my cell phone only makes and takes telephone calls. That's all I've ever really needed it to do.

·
Registered
681 Posts