GMC Acadia Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone-

I have searched the forum for a place to ask this question but could not find the appropriate thread. so here is my question:

For those of you who have installed an aftermarket hitch to your Acadia, outlook or enclave, did you do it your self and if so, did you use a torque wrench to tighten the bolts just right. I am pretty sure I can bolt the hitch on myself, but I do not own a torque wrench as I am not a mechanic nor am I any way even close to a mechanic in knowledge or skill. basically I am a newb. But, I think I could do this task. I am just worried that the bolts need to be tightened to a specific torque. We also have an 08 Toyota Sienna that I am going to add a hitch too since it came with the tow prep package. I saw on the hitch instructions that the bolts need to be tightened with a torque wrench as well. S, I have the same dilemma with the van as well. Thanks in advance for any replies.

Bill

·
Registered
104 Posts
I didn't torque the bolts on mine and i would venture a guess and say a lot of hitch installers don't bother with it either. Most will just tighten with an impact if accessible or use a 1/2" ratchet with socket.

I know harborfreight has a 1/2" torque wrench for $14.99 right now. It's not top of the line, but for the average at home mechanic, it will work pretty good.

I would just tighten them as much as you can with your hand tools and after the first use, re-tighten them. The bolts that came with my hitch had serated washers that grip the metal when tightened like a lock washer.

That's my .02 worth. ;)

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply. Your answer is what I was thinking. As long as I am mindful of tightning or checking to make sure they are tightened, I thought I should be ok. Thanks.

Bill

·
Registered
428 Posts