GMC Acadia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2016 Chevy Traverse AWD, 2006 Cadillac DTS, 2006 Ram Megacab Cummins 4X4
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Newbie here, longtime GM fan. But as with any OEM vehicle there will be certain issues and weak points.

Going for an AWD SLT-2, Premium or Denali...20,000 to 35,000 mile range.

What should I watch out for if anything?

Favoring the Denali simply for the HID headlights, have owned Cadillacs with the HID setup and have found them to be second to none on dark highways. Travel many miles after dark in Maine with Moose and Deer in the road, the roads belong to the Moose and they simply let us use them....

Any and all input welcome...

Mike.

·
Registered
324 Posts
If the HIDs are a major factor I'd suggest test driving a Denali after dark. Comparing them to the HIDs in my '14 SRX there's a significant difference in performance - both low beam and high. I would say the SRX lights are more focused (for lack of a better word) while those on my Denali are more diffused. Example: The high beams on the Denali will light up the tree tops while the SRX directs more light lower down the road.

Still better than the lights on lower trims.

·
Super Moderator
20,263 Posts
Lots of moose hide out in tree tops! LOL

Reactions: SpartyOn

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
If the HIDs are a major factor I'd suggest test driving a Denali after dark. Comparing them to the HIDs in my '14 SRX there's a significant difference in performance - both low beam and high. I would say the SRX lights are more focused (for lack of a better word) while those on my Denali are more diffused. Example: The high beams on the Denali will light up the tree tops while the SRX directs more light lower down the road.

Still better than the lights on lower trims.
Thank you for the reply. That is interesting....

The headlights in my current DTS are incredible, nothing better in snow or rain.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6