GMC Acadia Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I cut open brand new AC/Delco, SuperTech and NAPA Gold (Wix) filters for the Acadaia. Here are some pictures.
After viewing these, I chose to puchase a case of 12 NAPA Gold filters. I got them for $39 shipped to my house so this made them cheaper than AC/Delco and just a few cents more each than the SuperTech. The SuperTech wasn't bad looking, but the supplier has been known to change so you aren't sure what's inside of them. Some people have cut them open and they look just like a Wix inside.

Close-up of SuperTech filter pleats

Close-up of NAPA Gold pleats

·
Registered
134 Posts
Interesting pictures, but I'm not sure what is significant?

What features are you looking at to determine that one filter is better than another? They all look pretty similar to me, but I'm no expert.

Thanks.

·
Registered
6,233 Posts
I have a neighbor who drives a messenger van - he changes oil every 3K religiously and used WalMart oil and filter. Last van had 400K miles when he gave it away and it was still running.

·
Premium Member
14,870 Posts
xcskier said:

What features are you looking at to determine that one filter is better than another? They all look pretty similar to me, but I'm no expert.

Thanks.
Filter pleats, how the end caps are fastened to the paper and all the parts inside the filter

·
Registered
1,929 Posts
Doesn't Mobil 1 filters have the best review ratings?

·
Registered
63 Posts
I like the Mobil 1 filters, and are you sure thats a napa gold not a proselect? I thought the golds had a black case? I could be wrong..

·
Registered
484 Posts