GMC Acadia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I was hoping to get some info re: a prospective purchase of an SLT-2 2009.

I am coming off of a lease of a Land Rover LR3, 12 mpg on premium gas and could not wait to give the thing back. Anyway, I have been looking for a replacement for the LR3 and like most of the features of the Acadia especially the large cargo area. I have a couple of concerns that I hope some of you might help me with. I am a physician and need to be able to get to the hospital in snow storms etc. The front end of the Acadia looks very low and I am concerned with its ability to plow through deep snow as we sometimes have 10+ inches where I live and I often have to travel before the plows get through so answers to this situation will be especially apppreciated. I took a 2008 for a test drive today but intend to buy a 2009. I noted that there seemed to be some lag or hesitation on acceleration with the transmission. I did not know if this was idiosyncratic or the usual for this car but was deja vu for the LR3 which suffered TERRIBLY from lag on acceleration no matter how much they tried to fix it. I have also been considering the 2009 Honda Pilot which seems to be good value for the money ( Touring edition) but don't really like its looks or the fact that it has less cargo space. Any advice or opinions would be greatly appreciated, especially with regard to its performance in deep snow and if the front spoiler will break off or get damaged.

thank you,

Dr. Mike

·
Premium Member
2,875 Posts
Re: Need Advice re: new purchase

Welcome to the forum. I can not speak about the AWD part of the vehicle. I can suggest that you do a search by clicking the search button above to the left under your screen name. I have seen several threads about AWD performance. Click here