GMC Acadia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 122 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know if there is a replacement antenna for the Acadia/Outlook? The black flexible one that came standard on our non-XM AWD Outlook XR hits the garage door opening on the way in and out. Because it's angled, the way in isn't the problem, it's when you back out of the garage. I'm concerned that overtime it will break.

tyson

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: Replacement Antenna

It's not hitting the door. It's hitting the door opening. The structure. The garage door opens 1" beyond the door framework (sorry, I'm no construction expert and am probably using incorrect terminology). Can I swap out my flexible antenna for one of the XM domes and still get my AM/FM signals?

tyson

·
Registered
1,929 Posts

My garage was built in 69 and is a little lower than today's std height opening. Mine too keeps hitting the opening and going to live with it. On Star runs out in a year and have 100 minutes left on phone with XM running out in 2 months, then antenna gets removed. I might remove antenna sooner when minutes run out on phone. Problem solved for me.

·
Registered
395 Posts

I think you will lose AM/FM, as well. It is a "quad band" antenna- AM/FM/XM/Cell/GPS (Actually that's 5- maybe the AM/FM is considered one band? Or the GPS (for onstar) is separate?) I guess you could put a typical AM/FM antenna on the front fender if that is all you want.

·
Registered
61 Posts

Actually what would happen if you just cut the antenna down. ake it shorter so it does not hit. I am in the same boat as you it hits the physical door opening- house built in 1970. I was thinking of just cutting some of it off.

·
Registered
395 Posts