GMC Acadia Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All right folks, had some snow/sleet/rain in my area yesterday and I am internally debating (again) about the FWD vs. AWD when I go to order in the spring.

I am 95% sold on FWD because we really don't get much nasty weather around here to warrant it ($3.50-4.00 gas this summer, ouch!) but a definite nice to have on crappy days like yesterday (does everybody need to do 75mph or 30mph in the left lane during a snowstorm...really!)

My question is this, the AWD system in the Acadia is it full-time like say a Subaru or BMW Xdrive system or the same old same old FWD biased most of the time and applies power to the rear wheels when slippage is detected?

I am hoping for the $2,000 AWD price premium that this is the "smart" AWD drive system.

Thanks, for any insight.

·
Registered
956 Posts
I do have the AWD. I live in snow country (mountains 7000') so I have a lot of experience of driving on snow and ice. I believe the Acadia is FWD until slippage occurs, and then it transfers the power to the rear wheels. The system is transparant so you never feel it go from FWD to AWD, but I have to say traction wise it is as good or better than any 4WD vehicles I have owned. Rather you need it or not you will have to decide that issue.

·
Registered
403 Posts
I thought it was 90/10 front to back in normal mode. You can certainly "feel" and "hear" it go into AWD mode when you are slipping the front tires a lot. You hear a noise, you can see the yellow AWD light go on, etc.

I plan on pulling my snowmobile trailer next weekend and I'm hoping for more snow. I'm going to say, compared to my Yukon, it's certainly a different feel in AWD with slippage, than in the normal 4x4 mode. The AWD slows down the wheels that are slipping, using wheel spin and braking to make sure you get the best grip.