GMC Acadia Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all,
i have decided a while a go to install after market radio (Kenwood ddx 8019) in my beloved Acadia, i have also installed external GPS device, bluetooth and rear camera, i am very happy with everything so far, but after seeing the technician cutting all these wires in the back and making a huge mess (the guy has cut every wire back there) it got me concern if i have done the wise thing as i am concern if something could go wrong in the near future (i.e short circuit, computer goes down...etc) caused by heat climate as i live in very hot area.
my concern is, should i be worried of these things? are they easy to be fixed? finally if any of new devices got broken are they easy to be replaced by another technicians?

these questions could be dulls but it's my first time doing this and i just want to be assured as i am having second crazy thoughts of returning everything back to the way it was.

thanks

·
Premium Member
3,374 Posts
Hearing every wire was cut raises a red flag for me.

I did a similar install with a Pioneer nav/BT/rear camera on my 1991 Dodge Daytona. I looked up the DDX8019 and see it requires add-on modules for GPS and Bluetooth:
Navigation Ready: KNA-G510
Bluetooth Hands-Free Ready: KCA-BT100

Breaking it down wiring-wise:
Nav unit:
Tech should have used an adapter (i.e. Scosche or Metra brands) that plugs in to the GM harness to adapt power and speakers (audio out). GM antenna may need a plug-in adapter.

GPS module KNA-G510:
Link cable & GPS antenna cables are self-contained and plugs in directly to the head unit and GPS module respectively.
Four wires connect to the vehicle:
Ground
Ignition
Battery
Parking brake
These should all have been tapped into existing wires, not cut. A good installer would tap into the head unit's harness so as not to disturb the vehicle wiring.

Bluetooth module KCA-BT100:
Microphone plugs into unit.