GMC Acadia Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been fascinated at how my brain has reacted over time to the exterior "differences" between the Acadia and the Outlook. I'm curious to know or get a sense from others how much of these differences are perception (brand, positioning, image, etec.) vs. cold hard facts.

When I first started looking at the two I could tell no difference. In fact, in my town the Saturn and GMC dealers are literally next door. I'd stare at an Outlook, then go look at an Acadia, and I couldn't point to specific things that were different, yet my brain told me they were. After careful study the two primary differences I saw (and others have discussed) include 1) Outlook's hood extending "down" into the grille and 2) the Outlook having the wrap-around glass in the back.

There is an Outlook close to where I park at work. I studied it closely the other day and I'd say the front quarter panels look more rounded than the Acadia's. Are they different as well?

The bottom line is that I like the Acadia looks better than the Outlook. And the reasons I think it looks better are often the reasons why Outlook owners think the Acadia looks worse. I'm not trying to argue which is "better". (As a friend of mine says: "There is no accounting for taste.") I'm just wondering if there are other quantifiable things besides the hood styling and wrap-around glass that make the Outlook exterior different.

j

·
Registered
91 Posts
I think most of the sheet metal is different except for the doors and the roof. The arches above the wheels are different - the Saturn has a indentation whereas the GMC has a bulge. These little differences add up and while you can still tell they are related it's a lot better than previous badge jobs from GM. The interiors - not so much the seat shape but colors and the entire dash are noticeably different.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Well for starters there is different

Headlamps