GMC Acadia Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For those of you who financed through a credit union - How does it work? Does the dealership contact the credit union to setup the financing or do you take the credit union the info and they give you a big check to "buy" the car with? This is a one unit credit union so odds are the dealership hasn't dealt with this particular place before. This credit union is for my wifes work. Does that mean that the car has to be in her name for them to finance it? This is my first time not using GMAC so any info would be appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
497 Posts
My experience with CU auto financing is really quite easy, and as follows.
The CU member (and yourself, I assume) complete an application and get pre-approved. More than likely this is done on-line. Or, if you've had loans with the CU before, a phone call. Sounds like you've done enough research on your Acadia to know the loan limit you need. It is a cap, so you can go under pre-approved amount, and the CU might be flexible if you need more, if necessary.

After you're preapproved, go into the dealership and act as if you are going to whip out a wad of cash to buy your vehicle. When you've negotiated a deal on your vehicle, then just say you're financing through your CU and you'll be back in a day or two with the check. Once the deal is complete, you take the paperwork to the CU and they will issue you a check for the vehicle with them set up as the lien holder.

I have not had to title the auto solely with a credit union. I suspect that you and your wife are both on the account. Even if you aren't, you both can be on the title along with the credit union.