GMC Acadia Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
14,870 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I read somewhere (either here or the owner's manual) that nothing should be added to the engine oil. Then I find this:

http://www.gmpartsdirect.com/results.cfm?singlepart=1&partnumber=EOS

So now I wonder what's up; are additives or supplements OK or just the GM version?

Retract this post please; now that I have my glasses on this is an engine assembly supplement for building engines :eek:hno:[/color]

·
Registered
294 Posts
It'll only cost $150 for the time and tech support. ;D

·
Premium Member
3,212 Posts
3rd Timer said:
I have been selling AMSOIL for several years and have found those that say to use additives to oil should be shot in the head with a 50 cal bullet. End of story!
Come on, what's so wrong with Slick 50? ;)

·
Registered
156 Posts
GeoHawk said:
3rd Timer said:
I have been selling AMSOIL for several years and have found those that say to use additives to oil should be shot in the head with a 50 cal bullet. End of story!
I had two friends that raced with me in the SCCA when I was stationed in Merced, California and both locked up their professionally built engines with Slick 50 clogging up their pickup in their oil pans. Need I say more. If you use a good oil (synthetic) there is NO need to place crap in with it --- period!!!

·
Premium Member
3,212 Posts
3rd Timer said:
GeoHawk said:
3rd Timer said:
I had two friends that raced with me in the SCCA when I was stationed in Merced, California and both locked up their professionally built engines with Slick 50 clogging up their pickup in their oil pans. Need I say more. If you use a good oil (synthetic) there is NO need to place crap in with it --- period!!!
Sorry 3rd Timer, I was trying to be sarcastic. ;D Nothing but oil goes in my engines. I do remember when I was a kid helping my dad change the oil in our cars, he would always use a can of STP Oil Treatment with each oil change. :eek:hno:

·