GMC Acadia Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.. I am new to this.. Got my Acadia back in April and just recently when I turn on my A/C it has a terrible odor. Has anyone else had this problem? My husband told me I should take it down to the dealership but I'm sure they are going to look at me like I am crazy! Any input would be helpful..Thanks

·
Premium Member
3,374 Posts
Welcome to the forum... and other than the above, I hope you are enjoying the Acadia. There are several factors that could cause an odor in your ventilation system. Does the odor persist if you have the heat on? The air comes from the same source, so it would be odd for it to only affect the AC unless you have a leak in your evaporator core- if this is the case, you will have no cold air.

Usually it is a fluid leak of some sort. The dealer will need to inspect it to see what is causing it.

It is helpful to post your location in your profile and vehicle info in your signature so that others can help you. The info on how to do so is in the link in my signature called Blues Clues.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for your input... I don't if the odor is present with the heat on. I live in Tn and haven't had to use it yet. I will test it out tomorrow. Thank you for the helpful link....

·
Registered
5 Posts
it is probably mold and mildew. ... When you last used the Acadia...I bet you left the AC on in some means. It is always good practice to shut the AC off about 2 or 3 minutes before you plan on leaving the vehicle to remove all the frozen moisture and excess mositure in the AC exchanger.

·
Registered
428 Posts
The first thing I would do is have the inside cabin air filter changed. If something is causing the smell it is likely in the filter.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Check the drain line for condensation from the a/c. May be cloged alowing moisture to build up resulting in mold which was memtioned.
BD

·
Registered