Acadiaforum.net Bookmark and Share
October 24, 2014, 05:30:50 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.   (Registering removes in-text ads)
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Search all 4 Lambda Forums at once with the "Super Search" box! Click search in the top nav bar to find it.
   
   Home   Help Search Gallery Login Register  
Registered users see fewer ads.
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: MERGED: TPMS/Tire Pressure Sensor Info  (Read 26060 times, 40 Replies)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
stucake
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2007




Ignore
« on: January 25, 2009, 10:01:09 PM »

Guys my dashboard tire pressure indicator is wired backwards. I had the low pressure waring go off. Stopped to air up the front as was indicated and and I watched the rear tire pressure increase. Is this crazy or did the something go wrong with the tire rotation?

2008 SLE Acadia Pearl White.
Logged
biggs4040
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 99
Joined: Nov 2008




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2009, 10:06:25 PM »

Your sensor where not reset when the tires where rotated. You just need to reset, according to your owners manual. That, or leave it until the next rotation, and remember which is where. There is a thread on here as well for resetting the monitors. It's actually pretty easy if you have a compressor. thumbs up
Logged

2008 Acadia SLE with auto climate, Bose DVD, towing, and back-up sensors. Captains chairs, and added DIC. Red Jewel exterior. In Central NY.
2008 Silverado Z-71 Ext cab.
2007 Harley StreetGlide
sweetlew
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2007




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2009, 10:20:52 PM »

The same happened to me just took mine in for a tire rotation and the dealer didn't reset as they should have.  Took back into them they hooked up a small box to each tire and reset them all.  Took less then 2 minutes.
Logged
FORUM GM
FORMER ACADIA COMMANDER; NOW IMPALA HERDER
Global Moderator
Acadia NIRVANA
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15345
Joined: Dec 2008


I'M AN ACCOUNT TAKER AND A THREAD BREAKER



« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2009, 10:36:23 PM »

Just try to remember to tell them about the TPMS
Logged

2014 Impala LS (non-eco)-Build date 12/13/2013  Mine 3/15/2014
"I don't care what you think about me; I don't think about you at all"
pgh_acadia
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 77
Location: Pittsburgh
Joined: Aug 2008





Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2009, 07:02:06 AM »

Resetting the TPMS, I believe it's in Section 5 of the manual.  You do need a compressor though, as part of the procedure is to let air out of the tires so that the sensors can sense which tire is being manipulated.  So, you'll need the compressor to fill the tires back up to 35 psi when you're all done!  thumbs up
Logged

2009 SLT2, AWD, Medium Blue Metallic w/Ebony Heated/Cooled Seats, Sunroof, 19" Wheels, HID Headlamps, Technology Pkg., Cargo Convenience Pkg., Advanced 2-way Remote Starter, 7 Passenger, Headrest DVDs, Molded Splash Guards.

Ordered: 8/2/09             Delivered: 9/3/08             Home: 9/11/08
GeoHawk
Thread Killer
Global Moderator
Acadia Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3181
Location: Somewhere in Kansas
Joined: Jul 2007


GeoHawk no function beer well without



« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2009, 10:25:04 AM »

I've never reset mine on either my Acadia or Silverado.  If the TPMS shows one of the tires as low I'll just use a tire gauge (remember those?) to find out which one it is.
Logged

2008 Acadia FWD SLT-2 Liquid Silver/Brick (Built 8/24/07 - Mine 9/7/07) - Wave Plate Victim at 66,000 miles
2007 Silverado CC 4x4 LTZ 6.0L (Built 2/19/07 - Mine 2/28/07)
2009 G5 5-spd (Built 11/10/08 - Mine 7/10/12)
2014 Cruze 2LT/RS 6-spd (Built 2/26/14 - Mine 3/22/14)
Schram
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 481
Location: i can walk to John Deere's grave.
Joined: Mar 2008

she cracks me up




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2009, 12:18:28 PM »

I've never reset mine on either my Acadia or Silverado.  If the TPMS shows one of the tires as low I'll just use a tire gauge (remember those?) to find out which one it is.

with you on that one, not worth the hassel.  IMO it is just a gimmick that tickles some persons faanncy. wink
Logged

Does it really matter what people think?  You are who you are, don't fake it.

2008 sle w/nav, 3.6vvt, 6spd, 4dr, 2wd w/4 tires:)
FORUM GM
FORMER ACADIA COMMANDER; NOW IMPALA HERDER
Global Moderator
Acadia NIRVANA
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15345
Joined: Dec 2008


I'M AN ACCOUNT TAKER AND A THREAD BREAKER



« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2009, 02:32:20 PM »

Can't you just relearn tire positions through the DIC?
Logged

2014 Impala LS (non-eco)-Build date 12/13/2013  Mine 3/15/2014
"I don't care what you think about me; I don't think about you at all"
Schram
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 481
Location: i can walk to John Deere's grave.
Joined: Mar 2008

she cracks me up




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2009, 03:16:05 PM »

heck no, they should have made it that easy, but not sure how the comp. would know which pressure was where.
Logged

Does it really matter what people think?  You are who you are, don't fake it.

2008 sle w/nav, 3.6vvt, 6spd, 4dr, 2wd w/4 tires:)
FORUM GM
FORMER ACADIA COMMANDER; NOW IMPALA HERDER
Global Moderator
Acadia NIRVANA
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15345
Joined: Dec 2008


I'M AN ACCOUNT TAKER AND A THREAD BREAKER



« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2009, 07:26:36 PM »

So what is the use of the relearn tire position; time for the owner's manual
Logged

2014 Impala LS (non-eco)-Build date 12/13/2013  Mine 3/15/2014
"I don't care what you think about me; I don't think about you at all"
Blue_2009_SLT2
Lobbying for liberty
Global Moderator
Acadia Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3707
Location: Loving life in North Florida
Joined: Jun 2008


Fleet HQ & our combined fleet...


WWW
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2009, 09:40:50 PM »

I got 4 new wheels and new sensors for my Dodge- it somehow detects where everything is when you drive it, at least as far as I know- all 4 are showing up.
Logged

My name is Blue_2009_SLT2
Moderator of the Forum of the Acadia
Retired member of the Law Enforcement Legions
Loyal servant to the forum admin
Husband to a murdered Constitution, father to a murdered income
And I will have my vengeance... in this election and the next.
biggs4040
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 99
Joined: Nov 2008




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2009, 10:08:42 PM »

So what is the use of the relearn tire position; time for the owner's manual
This just puts the vehicle into the learn mode so you can adjust the tire pressure in order to teach the vehicle the location of each wheel.
Logged

2008 Acadia SLE with auto climate, Bose DVD, towing, and back-up sensors. Captains chairs, and added DIC. Red Jewel exterior. In Central NY.
2008 Silverado Z-71 Ext cab.
2007 Harley StreetGlide
biggs4040
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 99
Joined: Nov 2008




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2009, 10:10:48 PM »

 Undecided I wonder if pulling the fuse to the DIC would cause the sensors to completely reset, and re-learn the positions? (The fuse you pull to activate the DIC when you add it on the SLE)
Logged

2008 Acadia SLE with auto climate, Bose DVD, towing, and back-up sensors. Captains chairs, and added DIC. Red Jewel exterior. In Central NY.
2008 Silverado Z-71 Ext cab.
2007 Harley StreetGlide
FORUM GM
FORMER ACADIA COMMANDER; NOW IMPALA HERDER
Global Moderator
Acadia NIRVANA
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15345
Joined: Dec 2008


I'M AN ACCOUNT TAKER AND A THREAD BREAKER



« Reply #13 on: January 26, 2009, 10:12:11 PM »

Undecided I wonder if pulling the fuse to the DIC would cause the sensors to completely reset, and re-learn the positions? (The fuse you pull to activate the DIC when you add it on the SLE)

Rebooting the DIC?  Someone want to give that a shot; might need to relearn remotes (if installed)
Logged

2014 Impala LS (non-eco)-Build date 12/13/2013  Mine 3/15/2014
"I don't care what you think about me; I don't think about you at all"
biggs4040
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 99
Joined: Nov 2008




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: January 26, 2009, 10:13:54 PM »

Undecided I wonder if pulling the fuse to the DIC would cause the sensors to completely reset, and re-learn the positions? (The fuse you pull to activate the DIC when you add it on the SLE)

Rebooting the DIC?  Someone want to give that a shot; might need to relearn remotes (if installed)
I wouldn't think any remote relearning would be needed. I did this when I added the DIC, and my remotes work fine. If you have the Extended range, that could be a different story.
Logged

2008 Acadia SLE with auto climate, Bose DVD, towing, and back-up sensors. Captains chairs, and added DIC. Red Jewel exterior. In Central NY.
2008 Silverado Z-71 Ext cab.
2007 Harley StreetGlide
FORUM GM
FORMER ACADIA COMMANDER; NOW IMPALA HERDER
Global Moderator
Acadia NIRVANA
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15345
Joined: Dec 2008


I'M AN ACCOUNT TAKER AND A THREAD BREAKER



« Reply #15 on: January 26, 2009, 10:18:51 PM »

biggs; run out there a give it a shot Grin
Logged

2014 Impala LS (non-eco)-Build date 12/13/2013  Mine 3/15/2014
"I don't care what you think about me; I don't think about you at all"
biggs4040
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 99
Joined: Nov 2008




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: January 26, 2009, 11:20:29 PM »

biggs; run out there a give it a shot Grin
I'd love 2, but just had a discectomy 4 weeks ago. I can't contort to get into that spot yet. Maybe 2 more weeks. Anyone else want to try?
Logged

2008 Acadia SLE with auto climate, Bose DVD, towing, and back-up sensors. Captains chairs, and added DIC. Red Jewel exterior. In Central NY.
2008 Silverado Z-71 Ext cab.
2007 Harley StreetGlide
DeForger
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 560
Location: Staten Island N.Y
Joined: Aug 2008




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: January 27, 2009, 06:59:49 AM »

  In my 2009 manual the TPMS Sensor Maching Process is on page 5-46. Check your manual. It is the whole page. I don't have time to post right now.

Bobby
Logged

2011 Acadia SLT-2 FWD/Cyber Gray/8 Pass/Ebony leather/Heated&cooled seats/Tech package/Rear DVD Entertainment/Trailering

2009 Acadia SLT-2 FWD/Silver green/8 pass/Ebony leather/Heated&cooled seats/HID/Rear DVD Entertainment/Trailering/VBS Advanced remote- GM repurchase
FORUM GM
FORMER ACADIA COMMANDER; NOW IMPALA HERDER
Global Moderator
Acadia NIRVANA
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15345
Joined: Dec 2008


I'M AN ACCOUNT TAKER AND A THREAD BREAKER



« Reply #18 on: January 27, 2009, 07:43:29 AM »

Here's what the 07 manual says:

The TPMS sensor matching process is outlined
below:
1. Set the parking brake.
2. Turn the ignition switch to ON with the engine off.
3. Using the DIC, press the vehicle information button until the PRESS V TO RELEARN TIRE POSITIONS message displays. If your vehicle does not have the DIC buttons, press the trip odometer reset stem located on the instrument panel cluster until the RELEARN TIRE POSITIONS message displays.
4. If your vehicle has the DIC buttons, press the set/reset button. The horn sounds twice to indicate the TPMS receiver is ready, and the TIRE LEARNING ACTIVE message displays. If your vehicle does not have the DIC buttons, press and hold the trip odometer reset stem until the horn chirps twice and the TIRE LEARNING ACTIVE message is displayed.
5. Start with the driver side front tire. The driver side front turn signal lamp is on.
6. Remove the valve cap from the valve stem. Activate the TPMS sensor by increasing or decreasing the tire’s air pressure for five seconds, or until a horn chirp sounds. The horn chirp, which may take up to 30 seconds to sound, confirms that the sensor identification code has been matched to this tire and wheel position.
7. Proceed to the passenger side front tire. The passenger side front turn signal lamp is on. Repeat the procedure in Step 6.
8. Proceed to the passenger side rear tire. The passenger side rear turn signal lamp is on. Repeat the procedure in Step 6.
9. Proceed to the driver side rear tire. The driver side rear turn signal lamp is on. Repeat the procedure in Step 6. Instead of a single horn chirp a double horn chirp signals the TPMS sensor has been matched to this tire and wheel position and the matching process is no longer active.
10. Turn the ignition switch to OFF.
11. Set all four tires to the recommended air pressure level as indicated on the Tire and Loading Information label.
12. Put the valve caps back on the valve stems.
Logged

2014 Impala LS (non-eco)-Build date 12/13/2013  Mine 3/15/2014
"I don't care what you think about me; I don't think about you at all"
Nu2GMC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 185
Location: North Dakota
Joined: Feb 2007




Ignore
« Reply #19 on: January 27, 2009, 02:35:33 PM »

Undecided I wonder if pulling the fuse to the DIC would cause the sensors to completely reset, and re-learn the positions? (The fuse you pull to activate the DIC when you add it on the SLE)
Just follow the manual's instruction...it's so easy a cave man can do it.
Logged

Replaced Acadia with a '09 Silverado 4x4 LTZ Crew Cab in April ...'07 Acadia SLT-1 AWD Liquid Silver-Convenience pkg.-running boards-molded mud flaps-blk. htr.                                                           2011 Ford Taurus Limited FWD
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up   [ Home | Unread Posts | Unread Replies ]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  
Custom Auto Accessories

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.15 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines | Sitemap
©2014 acadiaforum.net All Rights Reserved.
All trademarks referenced herein are property of their respective owners.
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!